Poets logo

PALINDROME

an inverse poem

By Jack Anderson KeanePublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
34
Photo by the author.

The phone rings

I see it

Its eyes fixate on mine

The only perceivable thing

Peering out from its silhouette void

The phone trills sharply

Breaking the silence of baited breath

She's calling to warn me

But it's too late now

I've already found it

Or did it find me?

Have I found my fate?

Have I always been here?

Was the demon always me?

Like a mirror

I stare back at my own face

Déjà vu's tendrils crawl on my skin

While invisible claws tear me open and swallow me whole

The spellbook lays ripped upon the floor

Spine torn down the middle

The floor is where I lay like a discarded page

Yet as I fell, so I rise, and I fall

Floating like a dust mite

Suspended in shadow

Lungs ruptured, ragged and rended

All I can hear

The sound of my breathing

The silence broken by

The trilling of the phone

Like a mirror

Peering out from my shadowed rebirth

The only perceivable thing left of me

Eyes I know now were always mine

I see it

The phone rings

surreal poetry
34

About the Creator

Jack Anderson Keane

An idiot pretending not to be an idiot.

You can also find me on Twitter (for memes), Instagram (for the pictures), Letterboxd (for film reviews), Medium (for a Vocal alternative), Goodreads (for book reviews), and Spotify (for my music).

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Ssegun Olaoye2 months ago

    00:06:06 SPK_1 A few years back, I started to notice some unsettling things about my own conduct. 00:16:16 SPK_1 That concluded things. 00:01:17 SPK_1 My existence consisted of a succession of screens from the minute I woke up until the end of the day. 00:25:25 SPK_1 My phone was the first device I looked at when I woke up this morning. 00:30:30 SPK_1 I then found myself sitting in bed, flicking between a number of different apps while watching different cookery videos on Instagram. 00:00:37 SPK_1 Then again, it was time to get dressed and prepare breakfast. 00:00:41 SPK_1 Thus, the subject I was concentrating on at the time,

  • Abolarin Ebenezer2 months ago

    https://vocal.media/humans/the-symphony-of-collaboration-humans-and-ai-in-harmonious-unity

  • Abolarin Ebenezer2 months ago

    Nice ideas

  • Lindsay Sfara2 months ago

    This is outstanding writing. Congrats on Top Story, well deserved!

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    This is absolutely incredible! You are an artist 💪✨ keep shining!

  • Congrats on the Top Story! This poem is amazing. Love your use of language!

  • Andrew Pretzel2 months ago

    It's no wonder it's been selected as this month's top story. Good stuff, indeed.

  • Nes2 months ago

    thank you!

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Well done!

  • Lightbringer 2 months ago

    Really nice

  • Dr. Kriss2 months ago

    Woah👏

  • Test2 months ago

    You're doing amazing work—keep it up, congratulations!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • olymoolla2 months ago

    Nice

  • Antonella Rustica2 months ago

    congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    That was quite the puzzle of words, and you figured it out. Well, done! And congrats!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby2 months ago

    Suspenseful and creative piece, very good inverse!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    This is wonderful. Congrats on the TS.

  • Alyssa Nicole2 months ago

    Congrats on the Top Story! This is such a well-written and dark inverse poem!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Very cool and intense inverse! Well done!

  • Gabriel Huizenga2 months ago

    Wow!! This is awesome- bone-chilling both ways, with some brilliant twists. Congrats on the top story!

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    Woah!! This is so clever and masterfully done. Amazing. What a visceral read, both ways!

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Awesome!!!♥️♥️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.