Poets logo

Pain Becomes Drive

Pain and Hate

By C. D. GuzmanPublished about a month ago 1 min read

In the quiet, haunting echoes of my mind, The pain you caused still lingers, intertwined. You shattered my trust, left me so frail, But from that sorrow, I learned to prevail.

The love I once felt, so tender and pure, Twisted into hatred, a heartache to endure. But in that searing hatred, I found a spark, A fierce determination to rise from the dark.

Your cruelty became my unyielding drive, Fueling a fire to not just survive, But to thrive in a world you tried to break, To forge a new path, my own fate to make.

Yet, beneath the strength and the will to succeed, Lies a sadness, a wound that continues to bleed. It's tragic, really, after all these years, That my heart still harbors these bitter tears.

Mom, Dad, I wish it weren’t true, But even now, I can’t forgive you. The hate you sowed, the pain you gave, Lives on in the drive that makes me brave.

From the ashes of your betrayal, I arose, With a heart that’s hardened, but a will that grows. I’ve turned my hurt into my greatest might, But I mourn the love lost to endless night.

In every triumph, in every gain, There’s a shadow, a whisper of the pain. For while I’ve learned to stand tall and strong, The hate you planted still feels so wrong.

I move forward, fueled by the past, A journey of healing, slow but steadfast. But it’s sad to say, as I forge ahead, I still hate you, Mom, and I still hate you, Dad.

surreal poetrysad poetrychildrens poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Sweileh 888about a month ago

    Interesting and delicious content, keep posting more now

C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.