Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Why Hurt Me?

Broken Childhod

By C. D. GuzmanPublished about a month ago 1 min read

Why Did They Hurt Me?

In the quiet hours of night, when shadows loom and linger,

I sit alone and wonder, with trembling, tear-stained fingers.

Why did they choose to hurt me? What did I ever do?

Mom and Dad, I needed love, but all I felt was blue.

In the home that should be safe, where warmth and love should thrive,

I faced the storm of anger, trying just to survive.

A place of tender whispers turned to echoes of disdain,

Mom and Dad, why did you bring me so much pain?

Tiny hands that reached for hugs met with icy stares,

A heart that longed for kindness found only cold affairs.

Bruises hidden, wounds so deep, scars upon my soul,

Mom and Dad, I asked for love, but darkness took its toll.

Every word that cut my heart, every strike that fell,

Shattered pieces of my trust, creating my own hell.

I tried to understand your rage, the shadows in your eyes,

Mom and Dad, you stole my light, my innocence and cries.

Were you broken, hurt yourselves, by burdens you couldn't bear?

Or did you see a part of you in me, a reflection you couldn't spare?

Questions circle endlessly, no answers to be found,

Mom and Dad, you left me lost, on this cruel, forsaken ground.

Now I stand amidst the wreckage, trying to rebuild,

A heart that's filled with aching, a void that can't be filled.

But in the depths of sorrow, I seek a way to mend,

Mom and Dad, I'll find my strength, and this pain will someday end.

In the silent aftermath, where echoes softly tread,

I vow to rise above the hurt, to heal where I've been bled.

For though you tried to break me, my spirit won't be slain,

Mom and Dad, I'll find my peace, beyond the reach of pain.

surreal poetrysad poetryheartbreakchildrens poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Knk Lukaocusabout a month ago

    I've felt this I'm going to keep reading.

C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.