Poets logo

Outside of Pride

A Queer Poem

By Josey PickeringPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Outside of Pride
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

When June ends

and bleeds into July,

I don't suddenly stop being queer.

I don't suddenly pull my sexuality back into myself,

and throw away the key.

I'm still the same person

when the clock strikes midnight

and pride month is over.

I don't unzip a costume

or peel back my layers.

In the month of June,

I can shine a lighter brighter

and speak a little louder.

Outside of pride,

I'm scared of judgement,

ignorance and hate.

The older I get

and the more I know myself

and who I'm meant to be.

I open up the birdcage of my ribs,

and let my heart sore free.

Someday in the future

I hope I get to see

when Pride is every month

and we are truly free.

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.