Poets logo

Out of Nowhere

The Fourth Kind

By Lamar WigginsPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
Jigercrafts

Intense confusion

obstructed my view

of impending danger.

I knew not where I was going.

~

Icicles rained from the skies above,

but were gone in a flash.

Baffled, I became,

without the suspicious

undertones.

~

I aimlessly strolled

through sparsely wooded terrain.

Destination, incomplete

and unknown.

A large silvery bird,

caught my eye

as it

glided back and forth

ever so fast

across the cumulous filled sky.

~

In a split-second,

the space between it and I,

decreased.

It morphed into something

indescribable,

but the silver did not bleed away.

~

Several identical allies

gathered with it

in a synchronized trek.

What were they doing?

~

Their effortless motion

froze.

They stood still,

hovering above

the great height

of the

abstract tree line.

Never making a breath

of sound.

~

I hid beside a tree,

cautiously gazing, wondering...

They knew I was there.

I could not hide

any part of myself.

They read me

like a ten-chapter novel.

~

This invasion

of strange energy

was never invited

into my mind.

It was a tug-of-war

of mental strength.

I was becoming

Hyde.

But fought to stay

myself.

~

I glanced up

to the right of the sky,

as enormous

yellow equations

made a dazzling

appearance.

~

They twisted and turned

in a repetitive motion,

like the inner workings

of gears keeping time.

~

But the silver remained...

I could hauntingly feel

it breathing down

my hair-raised neck.

They want my attention; I need to get away.

I turned to run

but my shoulders

became weighted magnets

that held me in place.

I was lifted and returned

to my position of facing them.

Maybe this is my time of judgement.

Vivid, mechanical monoliths...

Fortresses of unknown origin.

Superior existence.

Ancient knowledge...

They stared back at me

without the use eyes.

They knew more

than what they revealed.

They want, me! I'm being abducted.

I began drifting forward

toward them,

against my will,

being lifted higher and higher.

The closer I got

the more transparent

I became.

Acceleration increased.

The silver was blinding.

I could do nothing

to hinder

my imminent capture.

~

I awakened from the rising panic,

and gasped with release,

realizing it was just an

intimidating figment.

~

The residue of fear

kept me awake and followed me

into the somber, spiritless day...

-Who were they?

Lifted

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Morgana Millerabout a year ago

    I am 100% here for the alien poetry! This was such a journey, and I love the last stanza: "...and followed me into the somber, spiritless day..." So perfectly, captures what a particularly heavy dream will do.

  • VJHDabout a year ago

    Very much the mechanisms of a strange alien movie that you find on SBS in the early hours of sleepiness. Very dreamlike !

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!! Loving it💕💖😊

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Great piece of a very strange dream. Well done.

Lamar WigginsWritten by Lamar Wiggins

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.