Poets logo

Out of Gas

A Burn Out Poem

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
9
Out of Gas
Photo by Luke Stackpoole on Unsplash

I am weary of this road that I have taken

And the few detours that it provides

Maybe I am not made for such a long haul

Been riding this trail for far too long

Under far too much pressure, wearing down the tread

Ready for an oil change with no service station in sight

No stop sign for miles, no gas station ahead

Too late to go back, after all this time, to my previous stop

Out of gas, spluttering on fumes one inch at a time

Until I reach my destination, and then

Time to move on again

social commentary
9

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Bamimeke Moses3 months ago

    Everyone in life will surely get to a point that will bring I di know 😱😱😱

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    So relatable, and so well said. This right here "Ready for an oil change with no service station in sight," I loved this line.

  • Suze Kay5 months ago

    I love this poem, Stephanie! I hope you're able to find a spark or a mechanic along the way ;)

  • Hope you get to refuel/ recharge soon... maybe Christmas!

  • Test6 months ago

    An apt and clever metaphor for this so called life 🤍

  • Test6 months ago

    The journey you've painted here resonates with the weariness that often accompanies the twists and turns of life.

  • This was so relatable! My body's engine light has been on for decades and I'm still going, lol

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    I'm so tired reading this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.