Poets logo

Our World

the fighting never ends

By Dani BananiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Our World
Photo by Maria Thalassinou on Unsplash

This world we live in, we act like living ain’t scary.

Tell people they live in fear like it’s an assault on their character.

Source: CNN

Tell people of their freedoms, their rights, their laws.

Fear into compliance, or don’t fear at all?

Source: Vogue

Mixed messages are screaming like two battling bands;

where one has many, the others have friends.

It’s back and forth

tearing

everyone

apart

Having moms and dads screaming “I love you” from afar!?

By Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

A screen can’t hug and a screen won’t cry

so we’re angry, we want to mobilize!

...but

But mobilization can be nothing but peace.

Don’t you see?

We aren’t free, and it’s not because of what you’re wearing.

We can’t be free if we can’t see that we are the start

of actual world peace.

Take control, take that ownership,

admit your faults, admit you’re wrong!

By Kevin Jesus Horacio on Unsplash

Because this isn’t about you.

And I’ve been wrong, too.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Dani Banani

I write through the passion I have for how much the world around me inspires me, and I create so the world inside me can be manifested.

Mom of 4, Birth Mom of 1, LGBTQIA+, I <3 Love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.