Poets logo

Orange peels

Haiku

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3
Orange peels
Photo by Diana Polekhina on Unsplash

eat the peels of the oranges

Would eat roasted lemon drink,

Trickle down your throat

Pretend it is like the sun

A old fashioned summer day back when you rode your bike all day until it became dark outside

I’m chewing the orange peel

Thinking of lost things

Lost memories

Did it occur to you that the whole of a flavor you never tasted could be

Something more intense than

You ever dared to taste,

Or dream?

Did your heart start to pound at the thought?

I eat a crispy fresh catfish tail, fried with a splash of lemon on it’s edges

My dad saved the tail only for me,

(I wore his clothes did he know my secret, the secret I kept from myself?)

I’m chewing the orange peel in my mouth

A ripping sort of dysphoria

Palpable in my mouth,

A resting place that hides in my chest

A lemon spotted

Tail

I feel

Can’t see

***

Haiku orange peels

Sinking citrus love

I’m lingering, soft in light

Drought in season, cry

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous will be published by Eukalypto

& Atonement will be released this August by JMS Books

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    This is very insightful. I enjoyed it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.