Poets logo

One Way to Write a Poem

A poem for the faint of heart

By Natalie WilkinsonPublished 7 days ago 1 min read
3
One Way to Write a Poem
Photo by David Perkins on Unsplash

The professor

asked us to feel the bottom of our feet

on the ground.

Shoes between

the bareness of skin,

and the wooden floor of the hall we sat in,

three sides of a rectangle

at plastic folding tables.

A sudden memory of another exercise surfaced,

in which you imagine your feet,

soul going down through,

connecting to the center of the earth,

drawing yourself into it, rooted.

And I laughed,

because the last time I thought about that exercise,

I was sitting inside a plane,

seat belt securely fastened,

trying to relax,

while a lengthy stretch of turbulence shook us.

My first thought was,

I’d better not try that now,

I’ll do it when we land.

***

This poem is the result of a writing workshop I attended in June. It can also be found on Medium on my page, and in The Lark Publication.

Hope you enjoyed it! Natalie

humorhow to
3

About the Creator

Natalie Wilkinson

Writing. Woven and Printed Textile Design. Architectural Drafting. Learning Japanese. Gardening. Not necessarily in that order.

IG: @maisonette _textiles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson6 days ago

    Context is everything, is it not?! Enjoyed your writing. 🤩 Forgive me if I've mistaken your meaning, but can you confirm what you meant by "three sides of a rectangle"? Are you speaking of a table at which you were seated? Thanks for bearing with me.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.