Poets logo

One-Way Getaway

A poem

By Real PoeticPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
AI Arta Image

A blinding glow ahead hugs the horizon, and

there's a peace beneath the stars at dusk.

Steady waves in the water quietly drift

my raft to uncharted areas of the sea.

Maybe I'm just lucky, but I arrive safely at an island

with beautifully tall trees and a surreal view.

I fish with the hopes of making a stew.

I catch nothing, but I move along into the forest

to hunt for meat to simmer.

Again, I'm an unsuccessful beginner, so I jog back to shore.

I approach a thief floating away, and I'm no swimmer.

I yell; the person ignores.

My inner healing is torn like my round-trip ticket,

and I still don't have anything for dinner.

---------------------------------------------------------------

Author's note: This was written for Randy's poetry prompt. You can learn more about the challenge by clicking here. The words that I included are: glow, ahead, horizon, peace, beneath, stars, dusk, steady, waves, water, quietly, uncharted, and sea.

surreal poetryperformance poetryFree Versefact or fiction

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

Thanks for reading!

[email protected]

Instagram: therealpoetic

-R.P. ❤️

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • The Dani Writer10 days ago

    A challenging prompt and thanks to you I now know about it. You made this seem effortless and demonstrated real skill here.

  • Dawnxisoul393art10 days ago

    Your poem beautifully captures the vulnerability and resilience of the human spirit, as well as the longing for inner healing and a satisfying meal. The use of vivid metaphors and descriptive language draws the reader into the protagonist's experience, creating a powerful connection. Thank you very much!

  • Oh noooo, no dinner is so sad. Loved your take on this challenge!

Real PoeticWritten by Real Poetic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.