Poets logo

One Nice Day

A dialogue poem. With family audio performance feature.

By Hannah MoorePublished 6 days ago 2 min read

Seatbelts on? We’re away at last!

We’ve lots of time, don’t drive too fast!

I’ll be first to see the sea!

Love, did you pack a towel for me?

Do I have to apply this cream?

No beach unless you wear sun screen.

USE THE LEFT HAND LANE TO TURN

But it feels gross, I’d rather burn!

Children, do what your mother says.

Which turning now, it goes both ways?

TURN LEFT AT THE SECOND JUNCTION

Damn machine has no compunction.

If you just drove at the right speed…

Go on, see where those comments lead.

Just kill us all then, I don’t care!

I’m so bored, are we nearly there?

You want to drive? Be my guest.

I got home late, I need a rest!

I’ve got my phone, can I play on it?

Please say no, it makes him vomit!

Why do we have no direction?

Maybe it’s just lost connection?

Looks like this thing’s out of power.

But it’s not even been an hour!

Where’s the charger, you put it in.

No, my job was empty the bin.

Are we lost Mummy? Will we die?

Dad will read the map. Or try.

Do we even still have a map?

There must be one amongst this crap.

Kids, check in your seat back pocket.

Look! I’ve found my missing rocket!

Mummy, ow, he’s pulling my hair!

She hid my stuff behind your chair!

Hey, let your sister go right now.

I’ll pay you back, you stupid cow.

Mummy, now he’s calling me names!

I’ve had it with your silly games!

She hit me, and I think I’ll bruise!

Kids, have you seen these lovely views?

Hey, give that back, you’re breaking it!

You’re disgusting! Did you just spit!

Right! That’s it! I’m stopping the car.

Don’t be like that, we’re still too far.

Don’t stop here, we’ve barely started.

Ew, let me out! Someone’s farted!

Can we not have just one nice day?

Here we go, now she’s gonna say…

I worked hard to plan this outing….

“Must it end with someone shouting!”

I just want nice family time.

“Is that really such a crime?”

Mummy’s eyes are getting wetter.

Sorry love. Kids please do better.

Sorry Mum, we’ll not make a sound.

One more peep and I’ll turn around.

Mummy? Is it time for snacking?

Choose one thing from in that packing.

Darling, where’s my bloody sandwich?

Sweetheart, can you watch your language.

Did you forget to bring my food?

And risk you getting in a mood?

Mummy, she licked my lollipop!

I thought you said these games would stop!

But she licked them both on purpose!

Aw, do my germs make you nervous.

Speaking of games, let’s play “I spy”?

Do we have to?

Really?

Mummy, WHY?

Can we stop now, I need a wee.

Jesus, you could have hit that tree!

I saw it thanks, I had lots of room.

Mum, I need to wee quite soon.

So do I have something to eat?

Check the cool bag between your feet.

I’m serious, I need to go.

Daddy’s right mum, you SHOULD drive slow.

Guys, its five miles from this junction.

WARNING LIGHT. ENGINE MALFUCNTION.

Family

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (23)

  • Tiffany Gordon about 7 hours ago

    Brilliant! I loved this one with all my heart! You captured a chaotic family road trip beautifully!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 days ago

    I felt very stressed reading that 😂

  • This is how we are traveling on our holiday haha!! Spot on and brilliantly so! Congrats on top story! 🎉 🎉 🎉 🎉

  • Real Poetic4 days ago

    This is really well done!

  • This reminded me of so many family vacations. Road trips are the best!!! Great work amazing entry

  • Ali SP4 days ago

    I could feel the chaos as if I was in the car. This is very relatable and a great conversation poem!

  • Kodah5 days ago

    MASTERPIECE! I really enjoyed this, Hannah! Clever way to construct a poem!! 💌

  • shanmuga priya5 days ago

    I can feel the conversation as if I were a part of the family.... It was a charming and heartwarming celebration of the little moments that make life so special.....I enjoyed by being with everyone of your family ...

  • Absolutely brilliant!🤩 I’ve read this several times and the audio is hilarious too. 🤣 A favourite bit is: ‘Looks like this thing’s out of power. But it’s not even been an hour! Where’s the charger, you put it in. No, my job was empty the bin. Are we lost Mummy? Will we die? Dad will read the map. Or try. Do we even still have a map? There must be one amongst this crap.’ Our family used to have a massive ’fight’ to start every holiday… & then the air was cleared and we’d have a great time.😉

  • Shirley Belk5 days ago

    I loved this and laughed all the way through it! This should be played on the radio!

  • Oh my, this was hilarious! And, to be frank, I'm sometimes really glad I don't have a big family of my own... I don't think I would be able to stand it, lol

  • Rachel Deeming5 days ago

    I laughed all the way through this! The audio was brilliant. It was like listening to a Radio 4 play. So good and I could relate to it as a child and as a parent. Brilliant!

  • Caroline Craven5 days ago

    This was brilliant! Reminds me of every time we left the house to go on holiday. I remember one year my dad threatening that we would stay home the next year and we all cheered. We were ungrateful little sods! Loved this. Made me smile.

  • D.K. Shepard5 days ago

    SPECTACULAR!!! This is clever, funny, lyrical! Well done, Hannah!

  • 😂😂🤣 Great! I enjoyed the conversation that is so familiar.

  • Lana V Lynx5 days ago

    OMG, I loved all the voices, so true to reality!

  • Leslie Writes5 days ago

    Nailed it! You really captured the chaos of a family car trip! 🤣👍

  • Natasha Collazo6 days ago

    “If you just drove at the right speed… Go on, see where those comments lead.” 😂

  • Natasha Collazo6 days ago

    Omg is your family audio?! You guys are so cute!! You all sound like fictional characters!

  • John Cox6 days ago

    This is bleedin , brilliant, Hannah. It brought back such happ… er memories! Laugh out loud funny!

  • YOU STUPID COW!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 That audio made this a thousand times more hilarious than it is! I had a listening and reading this! Hahahahahahahha

  • Andrei Z.6 days ago

    O, this is very creative! The choir part :-D

  • Paul Stewart6 days ago

    Far too relatable. lol. Love the rhyming, even though I'm not a big rhyming fan. Love how it all made sense, was authentic and it feels like you were maybe sharing a little of a Moore family road trip? Such a great entry!

Hannah MooreWritten by Hannah Moore

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.