Poets logo

one day soon.

I need you to grow up.

By M. A. HetussaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

I need you to grow up.

Not now, necessarily. But soon.

Enjoy your youth, make the most of freedom, but then come back to me.

Grown up.

My life continues to move forward. Every other month I am tackling another hurdle and getting one step closer to being the adult I was destined to be. Every week, I find a new way to become the young woman I have been working towards becoming.

I cannot help but feel like I am leaving you in the dust.

I love you.

But I cannot stop.

And I am not sure how much farther my love for you can stretch.

You need to grow up, or fear us snapping under the pressure.

I am on my way.

I am on the path that we planned years ago to take together.

I am on the path alone.

I am growing up.

I am making decisions that will permanently alter my future.

I am following all the check points we decided we wanted for ourselves years ago.

This is still everything I want. For us.

I am only doing it. For me. Now.

So, please.

Have your fun.

Enjoy your freedom.

But one day, soon, please grow up.

I want you.

I want the man I saw you could be.

I want you as your potential showed itself to me.

We have an empire we could build. I know it. You know it. We’ve discussed it. Our families coming together would be unstoppable.

We have power.

We would be so strong.

Together.

But.

How do you think my family could ever see us together if you remain like this?

How do you think my family will let you marry into it if they do not think you can carry the weight of the family name?

How do you think you will be able to keep me occupied until the end of our days if you continue this bachelor life you are heading into now?

I come from a place of status.

You come from a place of status.

Then why is it only me that is being pressured to marry?

Being pressured to grow up?

Being pressured to find a love from another man who isn’t you?

Because he is just that. A man.

Not you.

This is it, though.

Isn’t it?

One day you will turn around and it will be your turn to regret your actions of the past.

I won’t be around.

When you are ready, I will be gone.

I am ready. I think.

If not now, then soon.

Please, don’t let it be before you.

We have timed everything off by just one millisecond for our entire relationship.

This is one timing we cannot put off.

We cannot mess up.

Please hear me.

Please listen.

Please remember.

One day you need to grow up.

Not now.

But, soon.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

M. A. Hetussa

"Globally minded, artistically grounded, she writes. And when she breaks, words flow from the cracks in her soul."

- Raising funds for my book, expected early 2021!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.