Poets logo

playing the part.

Sometimes I question to what extent your part in my life has influenced it.

By M. A. HetussaPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

Sometimes I question to what extent your part in my life has influenced it. If you had never shown up, if I hadn’t put that many eggs in your basket, where would I be right now? I question if I would still be with my “first” love, if we would have made it to the place with the bells and where people say, “I do”.

Or possibly, I may have pushed myself and finished this degree a year early as I had planned. I might have been secure in my decision to create this project as is, how everyone wished it to be. Simply, I wonder if I would be in a happier, more secure place.

Without you right now, I feel secure. Not to say that this has always been the case; most times, I felt as if I possessed a phantom limb without your presence. I would walk aimlessly, mind wandering around the globe, unable to fully concentrate because part of me would be stuck on you.

But, not anymore. I am solidified in my independence, I feel unshaken in my stance, and cemented in my foundation.

In solidarity, I found security.

Sometimes, I wish I reached this position sooner. It’s where I’ve always wanted to be, where we all strive to get to. Then begs the question, what if you hadn’t been a part of my life, or played a smaller role?

I think I gave you too much responsibility, too many lines, too big of a character and you couldn’t fill the shoes. I set you up to fail, to kill a part of me, and threaten the success of my life’s production.

I will move forward, alone but never lonely, continuing to build in strength and love until the final act.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

M. A. Hetussa

"Globally minded, artistically grounded, she writes. And when she breaks, words flow from the cracks in her soul."

- Raising funds for my book, expected early 2021!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.