Poets logo

One Day Like This

A Poem for Vocal Friends

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago β€’ 2 min read
20
One Day Like This. Image By Author

Introduction

I have been waiting for a very long time to use "One Day Like This" in a poem and now that day has come.

Today on Facebook my friend Karen included me in a list of dates to plan. I shared it and almost all the people who came up for me were Vocal friends. Here is a screenshot. Cathy Holmes and Heather Hubler suggested I write a story for Breakfast with Cathy and Coffee with Heather.

I think these words from the song are so perfectly hopeful, and this is they way a I feel about by friends, although I would love it to be more than one day a year.

"So Throw Those Curtains Wide,

One Day Like This A Year Will See Me Right"

I have decided to write a tercet for each of my wonderful friends based on the date idea, so that is thirty-six lines of poetry from me for you all.

I hope you all enjoy this, I like sharing links to friends' Vocal pages and at the end is a Plagiaristic Poem inspired by my Creationati.

πŸŒœπŸŒπŸ’™πŸŒŽπŸ’›πŸŒπŸŒ›

Coffee With Cathy Is Black

Cos Abigail (That's The Cat)

Got The Cream And The Milk, Drat!!

πŸ’™πŸŒŽπŸ’›

Lunch With Judey Will Be Fun

Hope Ken's OK, He Can Come

Time Spent With A Wise Woman

πŸ’™πŸŒŽπŸ’›

For Eric, I'm Feeling Sad

There Was No Room, Twas My Bad

By When We Meet, I'll Be Glad

πŸ’™πŸŒŽπŸ’›

Heather's Birthday, Celebrate

Together We'll Caffeinate

Pot Of Coffee, And There's Cake

πŸ’™πŸŒŽπŸ’›

Now Dinner With Mariann

Sounds Like A Wonderful Plan

Food and Words, Desert Perchance?

πŸ’™πŸŒŽπŸ’›

A Long Winding Road With Les

I'd Talk Too Much I Confess

Her Cats Would Come Too I Guess

πŸ’™πŸŒŽπŸ’›

A Drink With Bill Would Be Good

To Crack A Few Jokes (None Rude)

Then We'd Get On For Some Food

πŸ’™πŸŒŽπŸ’›

A Holiday With Gina

We'd Go To Some Cantina

Where We'd Drink Margaritas

πŸ’™πŸŒŽπŸ’›

An Ice Cream With My Friend Dawn

On A Costa Mesa Lawn

Under California's Sun

πŸ’™πŸŒŽπŸ’›

Clubbing With Keila Outdoors

Round A Campfire With Her Horse

We'd Love to Do It Some More

πŸ’™πŸŒŽπŸ’›

To Share Food With Emily

Chinese or Greek Takeaway

Talk Ancient Mythology

πŸ’™πŸŒŽπŸ’›

With Gillian, "True Romance"

Favorite Film, Love Clarence

Alabama So Enchants

πŸ’™πŸŒŽπŸ’›

With Tiffany At The Beach

Talking Stories, One Drink Each

Yes We Are So Cool And Chic

πŸŒœπŸŒπŸ’™πŸŒŽπŸ’›πŸŒπŸŒ›

social commentaryinspirational
20

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah D9 months ago

    I like the flow, and its so cool. Again lovely write up!

  • Lovely, both in thought & expression.

  • Veronica Coldiron10 months ago

    Awesome!

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    What a fun read!!

  • All of those Awesome Creators are sure to keep you engaged β€οΈπŸ’―πŸ˜‰πŸ˜ŠπŸ’–β— Coffee with β€œCathy” would provide me the right amount of chuckle Boost I need to jump-start the DayπŸ˜β—

  • I really liked how you turned clubbing with Keila into a campfire! I enjoyed this so much!

  • Rebecca Patton10 months ago

    This was nice!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Haha. That was fun.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fabulous!!!

  • So good Mike!! Would love to have takeaway and chat myths!! :)

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    Loved this music choice!! And this was an absolute joy to read :) You are so on-the-spot creative. And I agree with Keila that you brought each one's personalities out. Thank you!!

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    It should not be a surprise That Ken is kind and he's the Wise one between the two of us So yes, he'll join me at the lunch, the three of us will talk a bunch tho we may walk or take a bus Oh no! I've checked upon a map It seems distance and water will be a trap! I guess by Zoom we'll partake; no fuss! Someday, we'll meet- we two face to face And exchange a hug and smile at God's grace. Because meeting you through Vocal means more than I can suss!

  • KJ Aartila10 months ago

    Love it, Mike! I think you've done justice to the personalities of everyone mentioned - and thanks for the shout-out -- Great poem! Though I can't listen to the music just now - oftentimes, my laptop decides "No." πŸ₯² But I love the writing! 😍 All of these encounters and people sound so fun! πŸŽ‰

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    What a fun read, Mike. It definitely made me smile.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.