Poets logo

Once There Were Nine, Now There Is One (For Me)

I Only Need One Muse, And I Have One

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
5
THE YOUNGER MUSES IN GREEK MYTHOLOGY

Image source here

The text below is taken from Greek Mythology - The Muses. It is the reason for this poem along with a tenth Muse who is the one who inspires me to create every day. I believe everyone knows who that is and without her, I would not be writing.

In “The Theogony,” Hesiod tells us that there were nine Muses – and most authors, especially since Roman times, abide by his account.

Thalia (“The Cheerful One”) - the Muse of Comedy

Urania (“The Heavenly One”) was the Muse of Astronomy

Melpomene (“She Who Sings”) - the Muse of Tragedy

Polyhymnia (“She of the Many Hymns”) was the Muse of Hymns and sacred poetry

Erato (“The Lovely One”) was the Muse of Lyric Poetry

Calliope (“The One with a Beautiful Voice”) was the Muse of Epic Poetry

Clio (“The Celebrator,” “The Proclaimer”) was the Muse of History,

Euterpe (“She Who Pleases”), was the Muse of Flute-playing

Terpsichore (“The One Delighting in the Dance”), was the Muse of Choral Lyric and Dancing

Then I have my Muse who to me is most important of all.

Once There Were Nine, Now There Is One (For Me)

֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎

It’s true that Thalia can make me smile

And Melpomene’s songs are sad still

Urania Muse With Sun And Moon

Polyhymnia sings a prayer

֎

Erato could help much of my work

Calliope’s Voice Sweet Like My Muse

Clio Is A Source Of Ancient Truth

֎

EuterpePlays Flute, My Muse Piano

Terpsichore Dances Around With Joy

֎

My Muse Gives Me All Of This And More

She Frees The Words From My Mind To Share

֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎

excerpts
5

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah G.2 years ago

    Lovely, tight, and the muses as backbone works really well. I'm intrigued by the capitalization formatting

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    As always, brilliant!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.