Poets logo

The Bridge

There’s a place between me and myself, where most of my writing is done. This is not a physical location with geographic coordinates, nor any other kind of material place. It’s not a place that just anyone can visit, quite rare is it that an invite is sent. That’s partly why it’s so peaceful. It’s my wish that it remains this way.

By Josh MorganPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
Like
The Bridge
Photo by raffaele brivio on Unsplash

Don't tell them

They'll only question

Don't give them what they can gossip

Something to judge

No, don't tell them

The bridge I spent so many nights on

Don't turn the lights on

The bridge I spent so much time on

It'll only blind them

The bridge from which I'd watch the sun rise

The same bridge I'd watch the sun set

The bridge I'd look up at

They won't understand

The bridge I'd stare down from

They think they're above it all

The bridge from which my thoughts flow

The time I almost thought about...

No, I won't mention that

The bridge from which I write from

There was something I wrote about...

But I won't mention that

There's a mirror in waters below the bridge

Only I can see it

Don't tell them

Don't give them reason to utter the word "crazy"

Time spent here is not wasted

Something they can so "misunderstandingly" slander

The water is much deeper than most can understand

Where I find my peace, some cannot conceive

The bridge that crosses between me and myself-

And stands over all I write about

Rails of dialog run this bridge

Trusses that support my train of thought

And all I track- That does and doesn't make it to the page

Don't tell them, about this place

About my peace-

They'd only ruin it

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryMental HealthFree Verse
Like

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.