Poets logo

Once Before

Marcus Perkins

By Marcus Alan PerkinsPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
10
Once Before
Photo by Simon Berger on Unsplash

Hello there

Where have you been?

Whats going on,

We used to be friends.

When did we go wrong?

It must have been then,

You know the time I mean.

Come on, you know it stings

For me to think that

You have forgotten me…

There is a place on this earth

Where our blood sunk in the dirt

Together it mixed with that of our friends.

You disappeared and left me torn

As my strength seeped away

Through the cuts in my skin.

Now that I’m better you appear again?

With your hand outstretched

A smile fixed tight,

As the light brings

That snakelike skin to a shine…

The window pane seems to shake

As I walk away from the snake.

Our footsteps echo together

In this small space.

I want to escape

But it seems like

There is only one way

To end this fright…

I’m not one

That you can escape with light;

Oh, you know, darkness cant save you

Right?

Our footsteps fall simultaneously

Because we are

One in the same…

NO!

You are not me,

And I am not you.

I am not vile or cruel,

I am nothing like you…

Don’t you see, you’re the one

Who created me!

Through fear and anger

I was generated.

Losing your brother created division

Inside your temple,

Your brain was affected.

Now you’re afflicted

With a condition

That will send your pieces

Shattered, and covering the ground…

The sunlight flashes

From behind the hill.

Covering my face

With warmth

Illuminating my crown.

The vile entity of my dreams

Forgotten just now.

In the heat of the moment

The cloud overhead

Seemed like just that,

With no evil intent.

Had I known what was coming

I wouldn’t have left

My mind unattached

From the things surrounding

These illustrious shoulders and head.

Lightning flashes

Horses rear

I fall to the ground

My head finding a stone.

Blackness overtaking

The sun stained morning

And death comes again

Requesting my presence,

Unfailing.

* Did you enjoy this poem? Please consider tipping so I may continue on this journey!

surreal poetry
10

About the Creator

Marcus Alan Perkins

I’m a father, published author, student, avid reader, husband, and advocate for equality for all. I am going to use this platform for my short stories and poems. Follow me on Facebook: @Author.MarcusPerkins, Twitter handle: @AMarcusperkins

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.