Poets logo

On the River

Reminiscing

By Suze KayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
On the River
Photo by Claire Fischer on Unsplash

Do you remember slipquick swimming against the current?

I do, the eddies at the edge of the dock pulling at my wrists

And minnows nibbling at our ankles.

//

The air sits heavy on the river. Heat lightning flashes

On the other bank, where purple clouds build and build.

I can reach the rock in the channel. You can reach

The beach beyond, and the distance between stretches.

//

Time is funny, it folds and buckles, and when I sit here it feels the same.

It’s not the same lightning, but doesn’t it look it?

I’m not the same person, but don’t I miss it?

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 8 months ago

    Another gorgeous poem Suze. Every line was great but I really liked this one 'Time is funny, it folds and buckles, and when I sit here it feels the same' and the last one too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.