Poets logo

Mirror on the Wall

A Kid's Poem (for adults too)on the Essence of Beauty

By Michelle LiewPublished 7 days ago Updated 6 days ago 1 min read
Mirror on the Wall
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

The skin, it is not deep: true beauty lies beneath its surface. 

Hey, bring out the kid in you.Let the mirror tell you what true beauty is. 

Speaker A : (You)

                           Mirror, mirror on the wall,

                           Am I the fairest one of all?

Speaker B: ( Mirror)

                         Ah, you're truly blessed, my little one, 

                         Skin's beauty melts beneath the sun.

Speaker A: Mirror, mirror on the wall

                          I told a lie, will I look tall?

Speaker B:  Little one, now do not fear, 

                           With truth of words, you are not sheer. 

Speaker A:  Mirror, mirror on the wall 

                           I cried ten pails after a fall. 

Speaker B :  Little one, now don't give up

                            Get on your feet, you must be tough.

Speaker A: Mirror, mirror on the wall, 

                          Why are wicked hearts so small?

Speaker B: Little one, now speak with care

                          You're essence will bring love to bear. 

Speaker A: Mirror, mirror on the wall, 

                          I don't like the way I am at all!

Speaker B: Little one, now yourself be

                         Innocent being of beauty. 

I hope the mirror has told us what true beauty is! Do leave your insights in the comments.

inspirationalchildrens poetry

About the Creator

Michelle Liew

Hi, i am an English Language teacher cum freelance writer with a taste for pets, prose and poetry. When I'm not writing my heart out, I'm playing with my three dogs, Zorra, Cloudy and Snowball.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 days ago

    Oooo, this was so profound! I loved it!

Michelle LiewWritten by Michelle Liew

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.