Poets logo

On The Outside

It's Exactly Where I Want To Be

By Misty RaePublished 15 days ago 1 min read
9
On The Outside
Photo by Tobias Tullius on Unsplash

I stood alone,

On the outside, looking in.

Never good enough.

The odd peg outside an already completed circle.

Nothing but the constant reminders,

Of my fundamental flaws,

Life companions I never asked for.

Imagine my surprise,

When you turned from the circle.

And took my hand.

A beacon, a ray of light and hope,

A tiny opening in the circle,

Purpose-built, just for me.

In your acceptance, I flourished,

A phoenix from the ashes,

I rose to touch the sun,

Almost.

And the circle closed,

As fast as it opened,

Shut again,

Shattering me as the gate slammed

Sidelong glances,

whispers and lies,

Tales of my cardinal sins

Well known to all but me,

Smirking giggles anticipate my tears.

But they're not forthcoming,

I will not cry,

I am not sad,

I rejoice.

Not for my time with you,

But for the education

The truth.

Back on the outisde,

I look in again,

And the view isn't quite the same,

It's darker, dimmer now,

A sad, needy mess,

Crippled by insecurity,

Ever threatened by integrity and true inner strength,

And most of all,

By me.

The lonely outsider

Like the rarest of diamonds,

Shines brighter without you,

And you know it.

social commentaryStream of Consciousnessinspirational
9

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Sandra Tena Cole13 days ago

    Wow! Shinning with your writing as usual 💖 xx

  • Shirley Belk14 days ago

    This made me feel so much. So glad you shine like you do!

  • Mariann Carroll15 days ago

    Love it. Glad to see your work on Vocal. You can tell a strong woman wrote this poem 💕

  • Babs Iverson15 days ago

    Fabulous and exquisitely written!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Lovely and constrained with sadness

  • Carol Townend15 days ago

    Remember you only have to be good enough for you. I remember this feeling, like yesterday. A fantastic poem, very expressive, with lots of truths.

  • Excellent Misty!!! I can relate to this!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.