Poets logo

Oh, Thief of Sleep!

Freestyle poem, a sarcastically bitter lament

By Ian ReadPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
12
Oh, Thief of Sleep!
Photo by Jp Valery on Unsplash

Why are you here, oh Thief of Sleep, whispering in my ear?

What idle theme of night’s domain enticed you to come near?

Heedless of my protest, I know you will not leave.

So come and give your grievances if that earns me reprieve!

So, tell me now, oh Thief of Sleep, from whence did you fly?

What broken things did you bring to me that I had left to lie?

Was it a recollection of newer times, bitter to the taste?

Or was it a memory of older days that I believed erased?

So, tell me now, oh Thief of Sleep, what secrets do you bear?

What do the whispers say of me that they are so ashamed to air?

Did they whisper anger, but were too afraid to quake?

Or was their tone disgusted, but politeness they did fake?

So, tell me now, oh Thief of Sleep, where has the hour gone?

What have you left to show to me when day’s light is nearly shone?

Fitfully you came to me and furtively you went.

But I wish you left me sooner before the moon was spent!

slam poetryperformance poetryhumor
12

About the Creator

Ian Read

I am an archaeologist and amateur story-teller. I publish a variety of content, but usually I write short and serial fantasy and sci-fi.

Find me on:

||Discord||Twitch||

From New Hampshire

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    The flow in this piece feels really natural, Ian - Nicely done!

  • Real Poetic7 months ago

    Your poetry style is so rich. It’s like reading your words sends me back in time. 🩵

  • Kenny Penn7 months ago

    Hell yes, Ian! We need to find this thief and steal it all back, lol. Great poem and obviously I found it highly relatable

  • Aptly timed! My sleep has been really disturbed recently… very relatable ✨

  • I'm with Brin on this. This was so heartbreaking! Not being able to sleep is like the worst thing ever!

  • Brin J.7 months ago

    Humor? Did I miss a joke in there? That felt gut-wrenching! This is so relatable. I hate tossing and turning while Thief of Sleep taunts me with reminders of my woes.😭 Great poem! The transitions and pacing were so well-constructed! I missed your writing!!!!

  • Amanda Starks7 months ago

    I love it; then as now. <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.