Poets logo

Oh, Pomegranate!

an ode to a fruit

By Randy BakerPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
19

Will your flesh make me righteous

if I give in to your temptations?

Will I be damned, as Eve,

succumbing to the forbidden?

What is hidden beneath your skin?

The key to wisdom

fathomed only by Solomon?

The doorway to holiness itself?

Red and succulent,

I want to feel your juices

run over my chin,

down my throat,

heedless to damnation,

to the promises foretold

by great men of old.

What do I care of legend or prophesy?

You are the fruit of paradise, they say,

and it is this I choose to believe,

as I hold you in anticipation of

your sweetness spilling into me.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Author's Note: This poem was first published in the chapbook, Beyond the Horizon: Journeys in Poetry and Prose, 2010]

Ode
19

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Nicely intimate!

  • Jazzy 4 months ago

    This was such a good ode. :)

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Wonderful piece. Nicely done.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    This seems to be a layered and beautiful poem. It makes me think of the different myths involving the pomegranate fruit, the most prominent one for me actually being that of Persephone in the Underworld. Well done.

  • Gerard DiLeo4 months ago

    I think it may not be about fruit, per se.

  • Well written! 😊👏🏻

  • Salomé Saffiri4 months ago

    What a charged poem! thank you for such indulgence

  • ROCK 4 months ago

    I feel guilty indulging in such pomegranate passion; please don't tell kiwi.

  • Such a wonderful tribute to the pomegranate! Loved your poem!

  • Alex H Mittelman 4 months ago

    I love pomegranate! Good job! Well written!

  • Hayley Matto4 months ago

    Fun one, lovely ode to the pomegranate!

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Lovely poem! Well done!!🥰

  • Catherine Nyomenda4 months ago

    A lover of fruits!! This was surreal ❤️

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    So beautiful! Pomegranate is one of my favorite fruits, and I make a great raspberry jam adding freshly squeezed pomegranate juice to it.

  • Carol Townend4 months ago

    This is a brilliant way to express a love for fruit. Well written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.