Chapters logo

Soul Tied

Only The Strong Survive

By Jazmine AmbrosiaPublished about a month ago โ€ข Updated about a month ago โ€ข 3 min read
Top Story - May 2024

The sun rises in the forest again peeking through the greyness of the clouds in the sky. The same grey as the chain that still lays around my neck. The year is 3000, 2999 is officially over only it didn't end as expected. I suppose we should've known better though. People had the same thoughts in 1999. Fearing the world would possibly end simply because of a new number. Quite ironic actually we used to fear the end of the world we welcome it now.

The world has changed drastically. Some say for the better, a biased opinion of those who have the privilege of freedom, those who experience the taste life. Those who live amongst the reapers. Gazing at my body as it lay shackled in the dirt in the field of unconsciousness, I lay here next to it. Staring at my one open amber eye for what I hope to be the last time. I've stared at it for years from infancy to now waiting and hoping to one day open them both. Waiting for the reapers to make their judgement. Waiting and hoping for a chance at something more or at the very least a quick death of my soul. I've watched myself grow for 13 excruciatingly long years and wondered what would happen on this day.

Turning 13 used to have a simpler meaning long ago, at least that's what I've heard from my parents, Isaiah and Angelita Livingston. What was once a sign of one's youth evolving into adolescence has now become an agonizing day of judgment for all. When a baby is born there is no crying anymore, parents no longer experience the joy of seeing their little one open their eyes at birth. Babies are born into slumber. The parents then lay their precious newborn in the field of unconsciousness and hope for the appearance of a chain. If the infant is healthy and strong enough Mother Earth will accept the child and an unbreakable chain will appear. Those who don't receive a chain are mourned and buried immediately. I often wonder if they are the lucky ones not having to experience the mental anguish of the 13-year ordeal, and immediately moving on to the next stage in existence whatever that may be. But for those who receive a chain the life of uncertainty begins.

The soul and baby body are separated, your soul takes the form of a living ghost unable to interact with other living creatures or other souls. For 13 years all you can do is think, listen, observe your surrounding area and your body grow before you. Some say the chain acts as an umbilical cord providing your body with the nutrients it needs to grow. The job of the parents replaced by a cold metal chain. How hard it must be for parents to watch their offspring grow year after year lying in the dirt instead of their arms. Unable to take them home and love them and unsure if they will live or die when the reapers come.

Twings snapping and the sound of nearby footsteps awaken me from my daydream. Now? So soon, the sun hasn't even fully risen yet. I've waited for this moment for what feels like an eternity, but now that it's here I'm not sure how to feel. I float to my feet and take a deep breath desperately trying to calm my nerves. I remind myself that the worst is already over. Right? Nothing could be worse than the hell of being restrained by this chain. Ever so slowly I find the courage in me to turn to face my judgement...........

FictionDystopian

About the Creator

Jazmine Ambrosia

An aspiring author allowing her

๐ŸŒˆimagination๐ŸŒˆto run amok ๐Ÿ“–โœจ

Instagram & Snapchat Jazzybooo_o

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Andrea Corwin 28 days ago

    Oh, what an imaginative story! I loved it - well, I don't like to think of that happening to anyone, but the 13 years, the chain, all of those descriptions - fabulous. Congrats on TS!๐Ÿซถ๐ŸŽ‰

  • Fantastic writing.

  • shanmuga priyaabout a month ago

    Congratulations ๐ŸŽ‰.

  • Tina D'Angeloabout a month ago

    Wow! You've created a believable otherworld. That is so hard to do. I want to know more!

  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    Enjoyed a lot this read, congrats on your Top story

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Congrats on your top story.

  • JBazabout a month ago

    What a interesting thought and imagination you have with this story. I really enjoyed the feel of the history and reason. Congratulations

  • Alex H Mittelman about a month ago

    Great work!

Jazmine AmbrosiaWritten by Jazmine Ambrosia

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.