Poets logo

Of Mess and Magic

Unearthed

By Alexandria RaePublished 2 years ago 1 min read

“A wise woman wishes to be no one’s enemy; a wise woman refuses to be anyone’s victim.”

- Maya Angelou

I have become comfortable in my knowing

Too comfortable

I have become complacent in my being

Too complacent

I have thrown water over my flames too many times

Smothering the hearth for those who say “too much”

But you, Sir, you have done so much more this time

Please continue to ignore the issue

Tell me I am overreacting

That I’m seeing it wrong

My grandmother shared with me the magic in her veins

Generations birthed of earth and flame

The dark and the light in a delicate dance of harmony

Reminding you of your generous potential and illuminating the shadows

Lie to me again

Make an excuse and tell me how this is all my fault

That I have somehow fell short for the harm you caused

Please I beg you

Continue to soil my name with your ego

It will hurt

You

I have a lineage of warriors residing in my bones

They are often silent

You can’t see them

But they see you

And this they have awakened for

I wish you protection

May no harm come to you

But may awareness keep you awake through dawn

May truth find its way out of her grave

Mouth full of dirt

Gasping for air

Remnants of the journey still under her nails

Truth is victorious in the end

Truth has found love

Truth has found compassion

Truth has found peace

What have you?

performance poetry

About the Creator

Alexandria Rae

I am an intuitive artist of many forms including writing, painting and performance. I gather my inspiration from nature, history, and culture to channel an empathic quality that inspires and offers a lens into a different world.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alexandria RaeWritten by Alexandria Rae

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.