Poets logo

Night Walks + Korean Food

Coming Full Circle

By Alexandria RaePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Release

Was it summer or spring?

Maybe somewhere in between

The brief time of my life that felt like it could have spanned centuries

I still feel pieces of you left with me

I’ve tried to give them back

But they usually return, showing up in coat pockets or drawers

Although now I’m unsure if those pieces were ever really you or the you I wished for

We had shared glimpses of our lives long forgotten and spent days with no plans

There was an ease in being with you. I started to realize it was the first time I allowed myself to just be

Simple moments ripple through time and catch me again

You found two toads in the road and brought them to safety, scrambling to make sure they would stay together

You didn’t want them to have to be alone

That was the moment

The moment I decided to let hope return

I hoped you’d stay forever

And in the end I never knew if you ever wanted to

And I guess I never asked

heartbreak

About the Creator

Alexandria Rae

I am an intuitive artist of many forms including writing, painting and performance. I gather my inspiration from nature, history, and culture to channel an empathic quality that inspires and offers a lens into a different world.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alexandria RaeWritten by Alexandria Rae

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.