Poets logo

Ode, to the Roof Beams

An Ode performed

By Dean F. HardyPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
23
Recorded by Author - Image by Pascal Meier on Unsplash

I write this

in a state of bliss,

late at night, under the

dim lamplight,

there is wine nearby

in case my soul runs dry

but I do not fear,

because I was born to be here.

.

In this stinging silence

I wrestle with the sharpest violence

a pen and paper my weapons

of choice

much like Wilde, Pearse and Joyce!

And what I wouldn't give

to be whispered with them..

and take my place in

Irish elysium.

.

But do it my way,

I must

in my roots,

I do trust!

A blue collar lad

with

an inner City Dad,

I'm just an average Dub

who lives in the pub

and spins magic

out of the tragic:

Because if you can't see the beauty

In the workin' man, do his duty

Or the passed out junky

who's smellin' real funky,

Or the local drunks layin' abou'

waiting for the session motts to put out,

How abou' the underaged teen

six months

pregnant?

It's kids raising kids

in this concrete

labyrinth.

.

So this is the Ode, to my Dreams

hanging above me from

the Roof Beams,

because nobody wants to

publish something this truthful,

they stick to the empty, the dull

the "beautiful"

***************************************************

Author's Note:

I felt it important that if I wrote an Ode, that I stay true to myself and where I'm from. The Dublin dialect is rich and complex and I knew to make this piece work, it needed to be heard as well as read.

I hope you enjoyed.

Dean 🍀

social commentaryperformance poetrylove poems
23

About the Creator

Dean F. Hardy

Writer from Dublin, Ireland.

*All work here is owned by Dean F. Hardy*

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 29 days ago

    WONDERFUL!! I'm late in seeing this (really late, LOL) and the voice part wouldn't load. But I still loved the written words.

  • Lena Folkert7 months ago

    This. Is. Beauty! Okay, I'm going to let the charm of the accent not be an influencing factor here (yeah right!). But this was flawless. I scrolled down as I listened. Your reading setting the pace. The siren in the background was a magic accompaniment to the "concrete labyrinth" (i love that). Absolutely loved it!

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    Love your ode and reading it is brilliant - that Irish accent is your secret weapon!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Irish Elysium, well you're on your way. Following in a great tradition. ;)

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Yep, that's life. Like the recitation too!

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Woah- what a voice! That was a wonderful experience, Dean! Listening to you read this gorgeous piece was just next level. I hope you do more spoken word, because I could listen to it all day. So powerful. Bravo! What a perfect and winning ode! 💞💫

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    That was SO beautiful! Really enjoyed listening to your voice reading your poem too.

  • Whoaaa, this was so amazing! Your voice was very soothing. I loved your ode!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    This ode is perfection, and so is your voice. You could read a phone book and I would listen. I’m either going to be back here to congratulate you on your win, or wondering why you were robbed of that win.

  • I'm so glad that you read this for us. It added so much & helped contextualize it. Great writing. Great voice. Great ode.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Loved your ode to the roof beams that provide a warm home, apartment or shelter from the elements!!! Fabulously written, Dean!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Wow. This is amazing. Pretty sure you just won this challenge. 👏👏

  • Matt Martin9 months ago

    The Dublin dialect provided an incredibly fresh take on these ideas - well done!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    This is an incredible work of art and I completely agree that it needed to be heard, and in your voice. Well done, Dean!

  • Mesh Toraskar9 months ago

    This indeed is magic, Dean! Such vivid imagery and your powerful voice guiding us through your poem really was the highlight! Loved this one.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Bravo, my friend. That was written and performed so well. A strong entry as the ethnic authenticity really shines through.

  • Heather Hubler9 months ago

    Glad you figured out how to upload the reading because it really did need to go with this one. I'm such a visual learner, that I appreciated being able to read along as well. Love that you do it your way and look for the beauty in every day life. It's not easy to find that lense sometimes. Amazing piece.

  • ARC9 months ago

    This is magic. I enjoy you just as much as I enjoy your 3 fine countrymen. Beauty lives in it all brother - thank you for making sure more of us see it.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Astounding! Dripping with emotion, grit, and yes, it is so much better hearing it in your voice! Love this, Dean. Excellent.

  • Nice work 🤩💖📝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.