Poets logo

Ode to Old Faithful: More Than Just a Blue Sweater

For the Ode to Ordinary Challenge.

By Paul StewartPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
10
Yeah, that's me and Old Faithful (with extra fluff)

Just a sweater

A gift

A necessity

Nothing special on the surface

Just a few, fine stripes

Along the chest

And a prominent

Smart but plain

Dark blue colour

Nothing much to right home about

But

We both know

Old Faithful

You are so much more

Aside from my wife and the boys

You are important

You have been loyal

Stuck by me

Through thick

Through thin

Whenever I lose

Whenever I win

No matter

How many times

I dirty you up

No matter

How many times

I wash and dry you

You still stay true

Warm and comforting

Like a loving embrace

By a fire

On a winter's night

Oh the winters

We have experienced

The colds, flus, viruses,

Winter sickness bug, corona

and so much more

Whenever winter

taps at the door

With its frosty fingers

You are the first thing

I search out

Whenever addiction

Has gripped at me

You always did your best

To give me extra comfort

The times we've shared

Loss and grief

Were a little easier

With you soothing me

Whenever money has been tight

and I just need to feel...

Secure? Your softness is there

Whenever I've felt lost

Whenever I've felt unfixable

Whenever I've hurt everyone else

Whenever they give up hope on me (justifiably)

Because they must, should and need to

You were still there

Providing warmth, comfort and something

Without discrimination

Without judgment

You may be just a blue sweater

An old blue sweater

You may have slight staining

From all the years service

You have given me

But you are my blue sweater

Old Faithful

More than just a blue sweater

*

Thanks for reading!

This is an entry for the Ode to Ordinary Challenge, which you can find out more information here:

Old Faithful, as I call it, was a blue sweater I think my wife bought from the George clothes department of Asda supermarket while we were still living in Leeds, West Yorkshire. She bought it very early on in our relationship and it is still alive and kicking to this very day. Albeit with slight staining, as you can see in the picture. It has been with me through a lot and it is one of my favourite items of clothing. I am not attached to many clothes, apart from that.

So it seemed fitting to write an ode to it.

*

If you want, you can take a look at some of my other work, including my 300th published piece on Vocal and another entry for the Ode to Ordinary Challenge:

You can also take a look at my full collection of work here.

inspirationalvintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetrylove poems
10

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Fun, warm and funny piece!! 😃

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This is wonderful, and relatable. I have an old jean shirt with holes in the elbows, but I refuse to throw it out.

  • Sara Wilson9 months ago

    There's always that one thing that seems like nothing to someone else but feels super special to us 🤗

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    This inspired me. I had no idea what to write about for this challenge, but as Mariann said, we all have a favorite garment. Nicely done.

  • Through thick & thin, it's always nice to have a security blanket.

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Very relatable, we all have a special favorite garment we love to wear 🖤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.