Poets logo

Ode to My Shower Beer

An Indecent Decadence

By Bri CraigPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
5
Ode to My Shower Beer
Photo by Timothy Dykes on Unsplash

Today, I wander my fridge for the cheapest beer I own,

the beer with the taste closest to water (or piss) –

flavors which complement linoleum floors and

shower curtains and fogged mirrors.

~

Today, I sit down on the shower floor (which I know

I have not cleaned) – pressed toes against walls,

water spinning down the drain.

And I crack open this beer – my shower beer.

~

Today, I let the water patter down my face (into my eyes),

onto my shoulders, like I was sitting in rainfall instead.

And for this moment, this cheap beer feels like

Hard-won solitude, precious summertime.

~

Today, I forget decency, forget prudency, forget

the world that exists outside aluminum cans and

wet tile. I fill my mouth with beer and rain.

~

(And sweet, stolen time.)

love poemshumor
5

About the Creator

Bri Craig

Bri Craig (she/her) is a variety pack writer. She enjoys writing poetry, webcomic features, humor, short stories, and personal anecdotes. Basically, neither of us will ever know what will be posted next!

Let's connect! More about me here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)9 months ago

    😆Great Work ❤️💯📝Nice Piece‼️

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    Ah, so refreshing. This is so clean and that last line says everything.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.