Poets logo

Ode to her black Toyota Corolla

they truly were the best of times

By Daniel KPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
Like

A common car but an uncommon girl

7:30 meant two different things to us

but I barely minded

goddamn

the joy I'd get

seeing that blacked-out car

pull up

was indescribable

we'd finish date nights in there

with interlocked hands

dancing lips and

contorted bodies

moulding to the length of the backseats

feet against windows

her head rested upon me

and I'd stare out the condensated windows

to get a glimpse of the moonlight

but couldn't find it

yet somehow her eyes

pierced the night

and my heart

when she looked up at me

as I skated gentle fingers along her jawline.

This heavenly car I'd think to myself

I don't want to go home

I want to stay here

for the rest of my life

saturated in silence

that sheathed us like wool

we didn't need conversation

her presence

and this vulnerable affection

had put its hooks in me

the way she'd cross stitch in her spare time

one of her immeasurable talents

Like all wonderful things

our nights came to an end

and more than once

they ended with blue and red lights

blazing the rearview mirror

those sacred parking lots had a curfew

"you can't be here at this hour"

we lost track of time

time didn't exist with her

only without her

it's the only way I can tell time now

I didn't want the night to be over

I’d open her door

admiring the stickers she placed

on her door panel

area code of her hometown

an anatomical heart

I remember it like yesterday

and I'd sit on her car door sill

just for a little

it was comfortable

staring up at her

watching her lips form words

but it got late

we had to part ways

and I'd watch her drive

with a catastrophic smile

plastered across my visage

Then one day

I'll never forget

she 0-60'd

out of my life

way too fast

why'd she have to get the sport edition?

where were the cops then?

Shit

I miss that car

I see them everywhere now

scattered on random roads

I see one every time I think of her

not the other way around

I swear

God is telling me

"Keep loving her"

performance poetrysurreal poetrysad poetrynature poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Daniel K

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.