Poets logo

Two lone wolves make a pack

what we tell ourselves

By Daniel KPublished 12 months ago 2 min read

I did life solo

and was fine with it

the way a lone wolf is

but then I met you

and that life was over

gone with the wind

took it like a kite

away from me

with sore eyes

I saw it soar

from sky to star

and

I knew you were the one

it did not take long

I felt it

bone by bone

the tip of my head

down to my toes

you felt it too

I know you did

you like to hide

and not let me know

but your eyes give you away

you want to feel safe

to be weak for me

you said that once

and I lost my mind

in each gaze you gave

and no rest has come

from the day you left

and I hang my head

as I type this out

and chew on the fact that

it took time to know you

but only a day to miss you

and here we are

a year gone by

soon to be two

that I have not seen you

and

in more than one time zone away

you wake each day

not in my arms

or side by side

I wish you'd bury your face in me

to lift you up

to call you baby

I wish too much

my soul

has torn in two

and I know

like the back of my hand

that love is hell

and it's hard to live with that

What if we had held on?

hugs for days

one more kiss

the nape of your neck

I hear the echo

from the way you said my name

how safe it felt

and

the yell in my core

as I walk in fire and dust

and my eyes

blue as ice

scan each room

and look for you

in each spot I go

how sad

to know

they won't find you here

but for you

I'll play the fool

I'm good at that

I've done it more than once

and I miss you

and I love you

more than you will ever know

dawn to dusk

east and west

and up and down

no word can tell you

just how much

and this pain can't find an exit

deep down

I grip on hope

it's all I got

and the sun

and moon

I pray to thee

let me be with her

surreal poetrysad poetrynature poetrylove poemshow toheartbreak

About the Creator

Daniel K

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    DKWritten by Daniel K

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.