Poets logo

The Pop-Up Friend

a friendship every now and then

By Jess SPublished 3 days ago 4 min read
The Pop-Up Friend
Photo by Dyu - Ha on Unsplash

Her, my best friend: -

Me, her not-so-best friend: Hey, I think I am not doing so well.

Her, my best friend: What's wrong? Please tell!

Me, her not-so-best friend: I fear I am falling into pieces.

Her, my best friend: I know how you feel, but believe me it ceases.

Me, her not-so-best friend: It is so hard to go through it alone.

Her, my best friend: I am always here. You are not doing this on your own!

Me, her not-so-best friend: How are you? How is family? :)

Her, my best friend: Same old. Nothing new. Doing lots of this and that, quite happily.

Me, her not-so-best friend: Fantastic! You deserve every bit. So glad to hear.

Her, my best friend: Thank you. I have no more fear. I am no longer sad.

Don't forget I am still always here,

for you…. I won't disappear

again.

not like….

back then

Me, her not-so-best friend: Same and….. I trust you. <3

Me, her not-so-best friend: Hey! I did this and that and more of this! I am excited. We should do this together too.

Her, my best friend: Happy for you.

Me, her not-so-best friend: Thank you for helping me through this difficult time. I am glad to have a friend like you.

We should do this and that. When are you free?:-))))

Me, her not-so-best friend: ….?

Her, my best friend: not sure yet….very busy at the moment

Me, her not-so-best friend: I give you space. I understand. :-))))

My best friend: Got nothing to do with you. You can keep reaching out.

Me, her not-so-best friend: <3 :-)) <3

Me, her not-so-best friend: I am…..

Me her not-so-best friend: ….reaching out.

Me, her not-so-best friend: You know, I am always there for you too.

Her, my best friend: <3

Her, my best friend: Hi. I want to do this and that. When are you free?

Me, Her not-so-best friend: Where have you been?? :-(

Her, my best friend: I told you I was occupied.

Me, her not-so-best friend: Yes but that was lifetimes ago, when that applied.

Her, my best friend: I have other friends and I have work too. Don't take it personally. You know I love you!

Me, her not-so-best friend: I share my mind and heart with you. My fears and my happy days. You know me inside out. I too want to be part of your life.

I thought that is what friendship is supposed to be like?

Her, my best friend: Sharing is good!!

Me, her not-so-best friend: You never share, you used to. It is perceived to be one-sided now. Is there anything I did or did not do?

Her, my best friend: *sigh* Not this again. No need for doubt, we are friends!! Nothing is wrong. That is just the way I am. I am sorry if that makes you feel sad. I am always there for you.

Me, her not-so-best friend: Hey, how are you? So this and that happened. Phew, I tell you!!

Her, my best friend: Great.

Me, her not-so-best friend: You're okay?

Her, my best friend: Yep

Me, her not-so-best friend: If there is anything I can do…?

Her, my best friend: All good.

….

Me, her not-so-best friend: Hi….

Her, my best friend: What's up?

Me, her not-so-best friend: Just checking in, to see how you’re holding up.

Her, my best friend: Good. You..

Me, her not-so-best friend: Just fine. :-)

Me, her not-so-best friend: So I heard you're doing this and that and all these amazing things. When are they happening?

Her, my best friend: I told you before. Does the bell not ring?

Me, her not-so-best friend: My mind was in a bit of a fog and created all that backlog. I am asking you to remind me again, so I can write it down and wish you well for them.

Her, my best friend: -

Me, her not-so-best friend: Ehm….Hello?

Her, my best friend: Hey, I am heartbroken you have moved so far. I mourn the days we have been close.

Me, her not-so-best friend: Hi!!! Great to hear from you. I feel the same! I miss you. We have been through so many highs and lows.

Me, her not-so-best friend: Hey…

Me, her not-so-best friend: Hi. How are you?

Her, my best friend: I just heard you did this and that, you did not tell me…how did it go?

Me________: Hi. It went well, you know.

Her, the pop-up friend: Hey, so this and that happened. And I thought about the times we had spent together. I am so glad to have you as my friend, remember!

Me_______: How can I remember what we once were? I doubt there ever was a friendship more than a blur. You disappeared again.

Her, my not-so-best friend: You know you can always talk to me. Just say when!

Me, her ..?????. -

social commentarysad poetryRequest FeedbackMental Healthlove poemsheartbreakGratitudeFriendshipFree VerseFamily

About the Creator

Jess S

One day I will be myself again,

and this darkness might come to an end,

and all doubt will cease,

and all strength will rise.

One day my tainted memories will be left behind,

and I will be able to see the world through a clear lens.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Esala Gunathilakea day ago

    Great poem and loved it.

  • Sweileh 8883 days ago

    Thank you for the interesting and delicious content. Follow my story now.

Jess SWritten by Jess S

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.