Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Hey Mama

The quiet speaks volumes.

By Jean McKinneyPublished 23 days ago 1 min read
Image by Ilana Tomaskova via Pixabay

“Hey mama

What are you doing, sitting here all alone in the dark?

Daddy won't be coming home.

That's what I heard him say

When he was going out the door.”

“I know, baby girl. And that’s why.

Right here on the edge of the evening

The quiet rushes in like a cool night wind.

It fills up my heart so it doesn't hurt any more

Makes it seem like tomorrow's on its way.

Right now nobody's in this house but me.

Tonight I don't need to beat the shadows away

Don't need to watch my step, my words, my look.

There was a time he filled up all my spaces

Along with his own.

There was that smell:

Old beer and sweat and diesel

Down in my lungs so I could never breathe .

There was that fist on the side of my face in the morning.

Too long ago, there used to be smiles

That same hand soft on my arm and no bruises

Because the coffee got cold.

But honey I’ve run clean out of flesh

Clean out of soul.

Tonight I wiped up the blood

And I washed my dress.

And when I gather up all the parts of me

I'm going to walk out in this pretty night.

I'll go downtown with my head up

Higher than it’s been in years.

And if I see that woman from across town

The one that hung her scent around his neck

Late of an evening when he should have been home

I'm going to pray my hardest

That she makes it too.”

Behind the Scenes: This poem is another of several inspired by my years as a crisis counselor in domestic violence services, watching women find their power after years of self-doubt and fear. Many of their experiences have found their way into my stories and poems.

Free Verse

About the Creator

Jean McKinney

Writer and artist reporting back from the places where the mundane meets the magical, with new stories and poems every week. Creator of the fantasy worlds of the Moon Road and Sorrows Hill. Learn more and get a free story at my LinkTree.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • D. J. Reddall23 days ago

    Courageous, defiant strength is woven into these words. Most impressive.

Jean McKinneyWritten by Jean McKinney

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.