Poets logo

Ode to a Washing Machine

My Minion

By Rachel DeemingPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
5
Ode to a Washing Machine
Photo by Andrey Matveev on Unsplash

You sit in the corner, like a Cyclops

With your one staring eye, white and clinical.

Crusty drips spill from the top left drawer

And lint has gathered there,

Like ants to a fallen food piece.

There is a small darkness on your lower lip

Which suggests mould forming,

Or dirt crumbs congregating, or grains of sand.

You look unkempt and unloved,

Surrounded by the scatterings and detritus

Of smelly humans.

But it is hard to view you as a monster

When you are so helpful.

Like a hunched henchman in a horror film,

You loyally do my bidding without hesitation.

You regularly open up your perspex mouth

To my dirty laundry,

And I close it in so that you can't spit it out,

With a clunk and a click.

Churning my denims, swishing underpants and shirts

And foaming up socks,

Occasionally devouring one as payment for services.

It is a small price to pay for smooth, ungnarly hands.

*

I think about what life would be like without you-

Look into the past before your arrival,

And shudder.

Standing in fast moving water, chilled,

Balancing on slippery stones, foot curving to their surface.

Desperately gripping.

Using rocks for scrubbers and their big brother boulders

For draping, to dry.

I picture myself as a servant, carting loads of linens

To the wash house. It will take me all day.

My hands will be hideous, raw and sore.

Bright, bright magenta.

I will have rubbed and pummelled and plunged:

Harsh chemicals will have coated my skin

And my back! Oh, my back!

It will ache with the strain and the vigour

Needed to clean the Master's sheets.

Twisted into rope cord to rid them of drops,

Hands tight and throbbing from the strain.

Such a process from scrubbing, to the mangle,

To the lynching of items on the line,

Hanging like sails, trying to wrench themselves free

From their tether. I will sleep well

But not enough to rid me of my aches;

Only enough to calm them.

*

They are arduous images

And I give thanks for technology.

My washer is a treasure,

A time machine.

It gives me the gift of hours.

*

I sit and listen to it whirr and twirl and hum,

The clothes drenched and turning

Round and round,

Like a liberated prisoner in the rain

On release:

Soaked, cleansed, renewed.

It doesn't like towels, I know;

They make it grind and groan

Like an engine up steep terrain

But it is diligent, my minion,

And finishes the job

Without spillage or grumble.

*

I am grateful for what it gives me.

It seems only right to show appreciation

For something which takes so much away,

Deals with it efficiently and waits patiently for you to notice.

Just a small beep, like a squeak from a pet mouse

To let you know its job is done.

No fuss, just dutiful completion.

I couldn't live (well) without it.

*

Machine, I thank you.

Thank you for the drudgery.

Thank you for the time.

I am in your debt.

social commentarysurreal poetrylove poemsinspirationalhumor
5

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Aarna 9 months ago

    Awesome

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    So much love for the beast! 😆 I enjoyed your ode Rachel! 😊

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Its always a sock isnt it 🤔 Why is it always a sock? I heard that depression rates went up after washing machines were in every home. Because women were more isolated at home and not meeting at the river to wash and gossip... and that ritual wasnt replaced by something else. Maybe the cost is more than just a sock after all 😁

  • I think we're all in debt to them! I shudder too when I think about the times before washing machines. Beautiful ode!

  • Ward Norcutt9 months ago

    As are we all. Thanks for sharing this piece. Fun! Some great imagery here, too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.