Poets logo

Ode to a Matcha Latte

comfort in a cup

By Crysta CoburnPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Ode to a Matcha Latte
Photo by MJ Tangonan on Unsplash

Matcha (抹茶) is the Japanese word for green tea, specifically when the tea is made from finely powdered green tea leaves. Matcha is highly caffeinated. To make the tea, the powder is dissolved in hot water. But matcha powder is also used to flavor several food items like cake and ice cream. It is also a popular latte here in the west!

🍵

Two chalk words on a black board

Bring to mind former days.

A string is pulled from my memory hoard

And round about my tongue plays.

Five dollars is a pittance

For a rich, creamy green brew

That brings delight to each sense.

I sit and wait with impatience,

Unaware there was such a queue.

The reward - so sweet! - is worth all expense.

🍵

If you enjoyed this poem, please leave a heart and check out more of my poems by clicking on my profile.

love poems
4

About the Creator

Crysta Coburn

Crysta K. Coburn has been writing award-winning stories her whole life. She is a journalist, fiction writer, blogger, poet, editor, podcast co-host, and one-time rock lyrics writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    This was a great read. "A string is pulled from my memory hoard," -- what a good line. I'm also somewhat laughing at myself, because I wrote a diss poem of the hot matcha latte. It's amazing to me how different it can taste to different people. I prefer matcha iced!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.