Poets logo

Ode To A Butter Pie

A Favourite of Mine , Butter Pie

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
My Butter Pie

An Update To My Ode For A Butter Pie For The Vocal "From Across The Room" Challenge

A wonderful friend was in a very mischievous mood last night and suggested I updated this for the Vocal "From Across The Room" Challenge, and she knows I can resist anything but temptation, so I have added a second poem to enter the challenge.

I have loved Butter Pies since I was a child, certainly not the healthiest delicacy but, as my friend Laura stated “Food of the Gods”.

Also known as a Catholic Pie as it was baked to be eaten on "no meat" Friday.

It was a staple at Preston North End until the Pie Makers Ashworths went under in 2007 but returned in 2010

A Few Recipes For A Butter Pie

I usually get mine from Booths

Here is my Across The Room ode: using the pindaric ode form:

Across The Room

I Saw The Pie

My Mouth Watered

Oh Butter Pie

I Need To Taste

You On My Tongue

Salty And

Sensual

You In My Mouth

Heavenly Taste

And Butter Fine

You Now Are Mine

Here is my second ode: using the pindaric ode form:

Food of the Gods

That’s Laura’s words

And are deserved

Oh Butter Pie

A Taste Sublime

A Superb Bite

Potato And

Onion In

A Shortcrust Case

So Full of Taste

And Butter Fine

This Pie is Mine

love poems

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • E. J. Strange3 months ago

    I like the rhymes and organization

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Nope, not for me. I am not a fan of butter. Pie . yes. But as you say, we all have our little craze. Banana, apple and coconut pie for me. Enjoy in moderation Mike, watch the ole waistline.

  • Lilly Cooper11 months ago

    I have never heard of Butter pie before! I think I might have to look into this more....

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    So well done!!! Creamy & dreamy!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Anything with butter tastes good! lol

  • Denise E Lindquist11 months ago

    Those Catholics know how to cook.What a hook. 😊💕

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    Oh this sounds heavenly… I looked at the recipes. Buttery potatoes in a flaky crust? Yes please. I can see why you’d lust across the room for butter pie, haha. Fun take on the challenge.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I’ve never has butter pie, but it sounds delicious!! 😍

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Now I want to try butter pie!! Great poetry!!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    I remember this. Good one.

  • Oooo, this was so brilliant! I loved it!

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.