Poets logo

Oceans Yearning

a poem

By LiliaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Oceans Yearning
Photo by Yoonbae Cho on Unsplash

I wake, jagged and aching, a half-cut boulder;

throw me in the water, I will not rise.

Dead weights at my fingertips, salt on my cheeks,

I’ve become nothing, a stone in the sea.

I remember: the ocean yearns for the shore,

waves caressing the sand, an unrequited love.

Throw your rocks, skip your stones,

perhaps they’ll rise to kiss distant lands.

I am but a pebble, a dot in the universe,

but fall in deep, and you will see:

a dot is but the beginning of an infinite line;

an epic saga of sentence length.

A sinking boulder, a singing ocean.

Write your words, and I’ll tell my stories.

We’ll watch them drift, sink, or float,

but we don’t know how far they’ll go.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Lilia

dreamer of fantasy worlds. lover of glutinous desserts.

twitter @linesbylilia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    So many achingly beautiful phrases in this poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.