Poets logo

Oath

Living by a dangerous code can take a person's life to the fullest. What do you think?

By Bazooka TeachesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Photo by Nolrasith's Eye from Flickr,https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/

I took this oath a long while back

I swore to myself about this self curse

I took it to make my life more exciting

In this world where we walk naked with fabricated facades

-

This oath that I took has made me smile, laugh, scared, and foolish

I took it to make me make who I am now

I’ll never be the same but it’s the same if I wouldn’t have taken this oath

In this world, most of my friends are now thoughts and dreams

-

Every day the sunrises with the Devil next to me

And the sun sets with angels enveloping me

I can’t tell the difference whether they are halos or horns

I can’t tell the difference whether it’s me or them that make me live

-

Who should I listen to?

Does it matter if they are bad or good?

Does it make me bad or good if I listen at all?

That’s why I took this oath.

-

I’ve decided to live with it

I’ve decided to sharpen my horns with it

I’ve decided to throw halos around it

I’ve decided to be me with this damn oath

-

by Bazooka Teaches

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Bazooka Teaches

A regular Joe that is just surviving the struggle. Loves to write and is constantly fighting the forces of evil.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.