Poets logo

Numb

. . .to everything

By Maya Papaya Published 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Numb
Photo by Roseanna Smith on Unsplash

anymore i wander in a haze

this world is just a blur as it passes

i sit here by the open window and watch the light of the sun

as it fades in and out

night turns to day

and on and on it goes

and i sit here

with nothing to do

no purpose

no thought

no motive or will to even change clothes

i look across the room to a warm fuzzy blanket on the bed

i want to reach out

my brain tells my body

my body does not respond

it has not for a while

the will to get up has left

the will to even go to my bed is nowhere

there is no one around me

i yelled at them to go away a long time ago

i moved out

locked the door

and never let anyone in

they tried

and tried

and tried

til one day

it all stopped

.

.

.

i just sit here now

i cannot hear the birds

or the wind moving through the trees outside

the visible movement notifying me of their presence

i do not even hear the rustle of my clothes

my pajamas

as i stretched out my leg

i lean my head back and feel the roughness of my tongue

as i go to swallow

.

.

.

i open my eyes and i must have dozed

based on the position of the sun

it was a few hours

how did i not feel that

my senses are betraying me

i should have gone for help

called someone

i didn't

it was easier to waste away

blame you

and not have to deal with the reality

i was an adult

who lives by themselves

never goes out of the house

stares out the window

and watches as the world goes by

life goes on

and i just want to sleep

sleep and not wake up

yet i am afraid

i want to open my eyes

and then i lose the reason why

i have nothing to inspire me anymore

i have no reason to go on

.

.

.

i hear the door open as my eyes slide closed

for what i think is the final time

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Maya Papaya

A creative at heart but a squirrel for a brain. Making the actual completion of anything is yet to be determined 😂

I am a content creator, writer, and world traveler (still getting to the last part)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.