Poets logo

Notes to my Men

Mummery, When Words Fail, and Home

By Guenneth SpeldrongPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
3

Mummery

You probably wish

You had known

Just how many masks

I own

Before we combined

Our lives.

Even though you

struggle

To find room

On the walls

For your own art;

You still manage

To love

Even the worst

And most offensive

Of my clutter.

You even make

me love

them too.

Erik Escobar with body art by Pashur House

When Words Fail

I sometimes wish

I

were a painter

so I could strip

away

the layers

that have concealed you

for so many

years

and replace them

with a picture

that would

reflect

all that

I see

in you

Home

I

never

Had a home

I could

Call

My own.

Always al-

one

In my head.

And heart.

And body.

Trapped.

lost.

Floating.

To find a home with you

Has been a dream come true.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Guenneth Speldrong

Hello there. I write things. Sometimes good things. Mostly, I write to find myself. If I can entertain you in the process, then that's just the derivative icing on the proverbial cake!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.