Poets logo

Up the Down Staircase

and Nails; not Knives

By Guenneth SpeldrongPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Up the Down Staircase

I never imagined

I would master this

Escher- esque maze

But I have finally reached the

top

Of my twisted

Confusing

Staircase

That often led me back down

Before allowing me

To continue

Climbing up

Others have easily

Flown up

In a fraction of the time

While my mangled

wings

Have made

That impossible

for me

Nails; not Knives

I will never understand

Why life

Insists

On keeping me broken

Despite all my best efforts

To stay whole

What use am I

As

A million jagged pieces

Scattered across the ground

Only noticeable

When I

Inadvertently

Inconvenience

Individuals

With the sharp corners

Time

Has forgotten to

Polish?

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Guenneth Speldrong

Hello there. I write things. Sometimes good things. Mostly, I write to find myself. If I can entertain you in the process, then that's just the derivative icing on the proverbial cake!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.