Poets logo

Sword and Candle

Another of Life's Battles

By Dan R FowlerPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Like

Sword and Candle

I’m told what doesn’t kill you makes you strong,

But after ruthless battles many I see standing alone.

War-weary soldiers, emerging faithless and bleak,

With nothing more than simple memories to keep.

I guess it’s that kind of resilience people oft mention,

Those surviving onslaughts depravity lengthened.

In those times much like today, I fear,

Winds of change, I’m told made things unclear.

If by chance there’s some reprieve to be had,

Some solace, and compassion that I can add.

Then show it to me is my battle cry,

Raise the anthem, lift voices high.

And if this valley is my course directed,

Fit me with grace and mercy uncontested.

For it is in this hour, this time I need it most,

Not some vapors or spirits or wispy ghosts.

On bated breath, I stand now poised to plunge,

Into a future having yesterday’s life expunged.

Clad me in my armament readied for battle,

With trumpets, swords, and shields ready to rattle.

Into this mirage, this next assault I’m ordered,

No rebuttals solicited, but parameters bordered.

It’s my road yet to travel that calls me now,

Whether I know the when, the what, or the how.

Now light a single candle for me is my plead,

Nothing more I seek, nothing more I need.

For if the battle, this journey is more than I can handle,

Then keep my candle lit and my sword from scandal.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be. my books are on Amazon. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line.

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.