Poets logo

Not numb

Surgery gone wrong or perhaps something more insidious about how much pain a person can take. Can a toxic person numb you enough to the agony they impart on you?

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
10
Not numb
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

gets under skin, numbed

The surgeon’s claim to fame, “whoops!”

I feel everything

heartbreak
10

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous will be published by Eukalypto

& Atonement will be released this August by JMS Books

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    Ooooh terrifying and sad! I really enjoyed your little description in the subtitle!

  • Had a dentist once who asked if I wanted Novocain for a baby cavity. "It'll just bite for a second," he told me. The shot had always been the worst part of any dental appointment so I told him, "No." It bit for a second. He kept drilling for another five minutes.

  • This was just so heartbreaking. Your poem hit me so hard. I loved it and the cover pic you chose is so perfect!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    This is really well done. At first I thought it would be about literally feeling surgery and I took a sharp inhale. It's a powerful and excellent metaphor. Well done.

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Ouch! Been there, felt that, figuratively and literally. This is deep and well written!

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    Oh my. So much in this little piece. Never has whoops had so much power behind it. Well done on this, Melissa!

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    I feel you on this poem. This is very deep. Laughter numb you through the pain . Recognizing the feeling free you from the pain. If you don’t recognize a toxic person is hurting you, you can’t be set free .

  • 👀Ouch❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.