Poets logo

Nonpareil

An acrostic poem

By Gina C.Published 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
30
Image created with Midjourney

Diaphanous, yet

Intricately filigreed, like

Secrets etched in fine stained glass,

The thought of you is

Raspberry apricity--

A dream so colorful, I

Can’t resist

The need to chase the part of us we lost.

I wait, without an

Ounce of focus for my waking world--for you, my

Nonpareil--should empyrean soon defrost.

*

-Gina C.🧚‍♀️✨

*

Author's Note: I felt like writing something short and sweet. ❤️

After much thought, I will now be publishing two separate lines of Poetry on Vocal (and, like a total nerd, I named them 😊). They are the following:

Gina Signature, which is my normal style -- rich in rhyme, very lyrical, and quite expansive -- often full of notable magical elements, and

Gina Petite, which will mostly focus on brevity. (I think I might end up calling it just "Petite", though--or my "Petite Line." 😅)

This poem is a Petite. :) Thus, short and sweet!

Also, because I'm an absolute stickler for flow, here are the lovely pronunciations of those two words near the end (I had to learn the pronunciation myself while writing this, so no shame if you didn't already know!):

nonpareil noun

nän-pə-ˈrel

an individual of unequaled excellence

empyrean noun

em-ˌpī-ˈrē-ən

the highest heaven or heavenly sphere

(The stress on the 3rd syllable - rē - really ensures that the last line is read the way I intend it to be.) ☺️

Source: The Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary

*

This poem was written for the Dancing with Distraction Challenge. :)

***

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️

I'd be over the moon if we could support each other! I am an active member on the Vocal Discord Server, as well as the Vocal + Assist, Great Incantations, The Vocal Social Society, The Vocal Creators Lounge, and The Medium Writers and Vocal Creators Support Facebook groups. Posting your work there is the best way for me to support you! :) ❤️

love poems
30

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    What beautiful words 😁

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    Gina, I love your new ideas for your range of poems etc.

  • Holly Pheni11 months ago

    Very lovely! I only knew nonpareil as a type of candy. How intriguing that it applies to a type of person, and how quickly the nonpareils in my life came to mind! Well done!

  • Oh this was beautiful you have a masterful vocabulary

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    This was definitely a sweet poem, love it 😍

  • Bugsy Watts11 months ago

    simple, yet packed with imagery. Love it! (also I looked up, like, four words lol)

  • Aphotic11 months ago

    Love the poem and thank you for the definitions😁

  • As you know, I'm already a huge fan of Gina Signature and as of now, sign me up for the Gina Petite Fanclub! My favourite line was the need to chase the part of us we lost. Also, as I was reading the poem, I Googled the meaning of Diaphanous, Nonpareil and Empyrean only to find out you've so kindly provided us the meaning, and pronunciations! So grateful for that!

  • Love these delicate words

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    "Gina Petite" is such a great name! This was a wonderful poem, as always!

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    This line is racing around in my head "Secrets etched in fine stained glass," Such a powerful and sublimely brilliant poem!

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Wow, Gina petite, you paint quite a pithy picture! I loved this! ❤️I mean, Raspberry apricity - just beautiful!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Loved this!!!💖💖💕

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    AMAZING 💜

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    "Raspberry apricity"? I think you are nonpareil! Excellent work!

  • Sweet Indeed😊💖

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Omg. Gina, this is fantastic. Well done, my friend.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.