Poets logo

No Trespassing

In reply to Robert Frost's "Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening"

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
9
No Trespassing
Photo by Debra Brewster on Unsplash

Who stands outside? His back is turned;

I bet he stares out on my woods

Out where branches pause by lullaby.

He’ll stay there for a time or two

As still air eats the deep cold deeply.

This darkest day calls many travelers

Out to a silent and still boreal grip.

I could bring him in, feed his horse.

A flaky down encrusts his mane

His tail bounces slow with ice.

But I have made no promises.

I should like to own that steed.

The lively thing could pull a sleigh;

Tonight, I'd see him lead the old St. Nick.

He and I would make good friends

And leave the man out there to muse.

We’d travel up that lazy hill

Venture through my chilling wood.

To brazen fires ablaze, we'd return

Barn of hay to rest and soothe.

The man would miss him, I am sure,

As miles slowed him to near standstill,

And no warm hearth leapt in sight.

Would stopping by my snowy woods

Be worth his flapping of floppy arms?

That sideshow of death’s great circus?

He, lost without his nimble stallion.

Would he then sit against a tree

He, with miles to go, and miles to go,

To warm his panting heart with sleep?

        

*   *   *

Thank you for reading! This is part of a series of poetic emulations, where I take a poem I love and either write an answer, a continuation, or something new inspired by it.

nature poetry
9

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶3 months ago

    Great interaction with Frost’s poem… I like Dana… was blessed to read this poem due to Paul’s recent challenge.

  • John Cox3 months ago

    I love how you added a viewpoint of a man watching the rider in Frost's Stopping by Woods during a Snowy Evening. This is a wonderfully lyrical poem! Great work!

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Well, it took 8 months, but Paul's challenge piece finally brought me here. NOt only did I love this answer to Frost's classic, I'm now going to have to track down the others in your series. Beautifully done, Mackenzie!

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Thought I had commented and liked this already. But found it in search when trying to find a piece to highlight in my challenge. Well done on being so creative and I love your way with words on this one!

  • Mesh Toraskar11 months ago

    So many wonderful lines in here - "Out where branches pause by lullaby", "As still air eats the deep cold deeply.", That sideshow of death’s great circus and many more... Gripping read! You never miss, Mackenzie!

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    This is just wonderfully done. Loved it.

  • Hannah Moore11 months ago

    And what of the horses voice? I think you could make a triad!

  • I love the direction you went with here! You are so creative! And yes, like Alexandra said, he best keep moving!

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    Chuckling: That traveler best keep moving. He is in dangerous territory. His respite is not likely to end in lyrics for a lullaby. 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.