Poets logo

Identity Tumbles

After Tarfia Faizullah’s “Self-Portrait as Slinky”

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
10
Identity Tumbles
Photo by Paul Siewert on Unsplash

It’s true I wanted

                  to be authentic

                                   before my own name

                                                      was mine. Say the word

momentum, taste

                        the shape of

                                    turbulence, my energy

                                                                infinite, rolling

down the long

             staircase down

                                down. Tension

                                                  stacked into a motion;

I wanted to be

                    a reckoning;

                                    lurching into the dark;

                                                                     suddenly halting—

exotic. I craved

                       beautiful

                                     a loose curl pulled taut

                                                                  and me, caressed as

a hummingbird

                 one moment;

                              seized in passionate

                                                  ownership the next.

Say the words.

             I wanted to be

                          a tornado, my

                                       gradating tresses

held in

           the hands of

                              every day,

                                               and known.

        

*   *   *

Thank you for reading! This is part of a series of poetic emulations, where I take a poem I love and either write an answer, a continuation, or something new inspired by it.

art
10

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 10 months ago

    You are so talented Mackenzie. This is beautiful. I'm nominating it for Real Poetic's Scavenger Hunt Challenge!

  • Mesh Toraskar11 months ago

    Self Portrait is one of my favourite poems by Tarfia and this is one of my favourite poems by you! Inspired use of language, especially the words you chose - 'momentum' and 'turbulence' have a sensory story of their own, the way they roll of the tongue and sprinkle the air with a bit of tension! I wanted to be a reckoning; lurching into the dark spoke to me on so many levels!! Brilliant work as always, Mackenzie! Loved this so much.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Mackenzie, I loved this. Everything from the formatting/ structure to the passionate sultry language! I love that this is a reply to Tarfia Faizullah's work. I can't wait to read your next pieces that are inspired by the four poems. I also took a look and love that you poem is a similar texture to the one that inspired you! So Smart!

  • Oh this was just so gorgeous and the form of it made it even more beautiful! I loveeeeeeed it!

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER12 months ago

    What a powerful opening! "It’s true I wanted to be authentic before my own name was mine." Loved the entire poem! 💜👏💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.