Poets logo

Night Hike

through my mapless terrain

By Lori LamothePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Night Hike
Photo by Vincent Guth on Unsplash

Fire in the forest! Burn in blue crosses.

Burn, burn, flame up, sparkle in trees of light.

 - Pablo Neruda

I'm not thinking anymore about calling you, 

only toying with the necessity

of painting my toes before sleep. 

*

Through the window, a nameless bush

blooms colored berries--its branches 

a zodiac of feeling. My daughter says

*

it's sky I notice, not people. Cerulean shades, 

flash of feathers, a cloudy symphony

unraveling across untamed air. 

*

It's true. I can sit in a cafe for hours

and translate glass without listening in 

on a single conversation. How strange then

*

that your eyes across a crowded room 

are the blue I've memorized--

that your voice's flame 

*

marks crosses on all the tree trunks

to lead me out of unmapped dreams.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Lori Lamothe

Poet, Writer, Mom. Owner of two rescue huskies. Former baker who writes on books, true crime, culture and fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.