Poets logo

Next To Me

The power of breathing.

By Shelby ValdezPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Next To Me
Photo by Natalie Pedigo on Unsplash

I wonder if anyone else feels like this.

| Of course, someone else does!

Yeah, but...

| You’re not that special. Chill.

HA HA. Funny.

| All I’m saying is be grateful that you’re breathing.

What about the moments when I can't and my breath catches?

| Just keep going. Keep trying.

But I wonder if anyone has felt like THIS...

| Try to explain.

My brain is slowly crushing me.

| From the inside out?

Exactly. But then there are these... moments.

| …

I breathe in and then let out the deepest, most delicious sigh.

| Go on.

Every cell in my body feels like it is flipping over. Refreshed and renewed.

| Sounds… Unique.

Every moment after that is just building up to the next.

| The next what?

The moment when I need a second of freedom from myself. Until then... It’s hell.

| No, it’s not. I stand with what I said. Keep going.

You’re freakin’ crazy. How do I make it stop?

| You don’t really want it to stop.

And how do you know that?

| Because it’s your brain hard at work. To keep you here. Next to me.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.