Poets logo

Naps for Laps

Droning Engine

By Thavien YliasterPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Naps for Laps
Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

In the mid-morning hours after dawn

I would hear a rumbling on the lawn

Out the window I saw two types of green

One of grass, the other machine

Over one end and shot out the other

Green atop of green, the green sea itself does smother

Turning the corner, by the window does he pass

Dad's mowing the lawn, he's cutting the grass

By NIKITA SHIROKOV on Unsplash

I would run to him and he would come to a stop

Turning off the blades, a gear he would drop

As a child, I would climb up on his seat

He would hold me tight as we mowed by the street

The mower's engine was loud, with a deep droning pitch

I held on tightly as we mowed the deep ditch

The mower crawled at a humbling decent pace

Going over half-cut, half-uncut, following the blade's trace

Moving over the grass in tightening smaller squares

Bunny rabbits, moles and voles would burrow deep and hide in their lairs

By Wei Fukuyama on Unsplash

I remember at times I having to wipe grass blades away from my eyes

I would run inside quickly to wash them out and ease my cries

Other times when I would sit down, I would grab the steering wheel

Imitate braking, by having my foot atop of Dad's, he stopped with his heel

There were times as a little kid that I would doze off while riding laps

Dreams of the engine rumbling beneath me, I would take naps for laps

"It's a grass eat grass world" I told when I was older, grass eats itself

When it came to mowing and fixing the mower, Dad taught me how to do that by myself

By Erik Mclean on Unsplash

slam poetrylove poems

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Thavien YliasterWritten by Thavien Yliaster

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.