Poets logo

No Replays

Live Once With One Chance

By Thavien YliasterPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
No Replays
Photo by Denise Jans on Unsplash

I have one life

One Opportunity

To take the chances

Opportune for Me

Whether they're opportune or not, you see?

We got limited chances

Not always connected

Not always projected

By Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

...

We need to be honest

Up in our mental state Office

Ask if you want this? Is it really the top list?

By Alesia Kazantceva on Unsplash

...

What if you started living your life without second chances?

To how many songs would you sing and perform all their dances?

What would you drop hold of, giving the rest your enhances?

Who would you love when it comes to romances?

By J. Balla Photography on Unsplash

...

Make no mistake

Not everything will go your way

The more you stay congruent

The better your outcomes will be for the rest of your days

So if I delay

The honesty

Within Me

Betrayed & Portrayed

As self-modesty

By Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

...

I do a disservice

By not bringing the surface

Level to what lies below, skin deep

More than superficial basal

Bottling your emotions

Misportraying your facial,

Emotional

Expression

Confiding & Speaking aloud the confessions

Provide Brief

Relief

But it's actions,

Committment

Even Committments to leaving Committments

For your health and well being

Will help to relieve the resentment

Improve yourself by the increments

Since not doing so is your own self-impediment

I'm not trying to be incredulous

Nor am I trying to be impetuous

I'm more than just cold and calculating

I'm hot-blooded, emotional even, and constantly debating

With what I should do with my life, with the chance I got living

'Cause I know the universe is generous, but also unforgiving

It's my choice, my willpower, to choose my own fate

I can't control the future, but my present's at stake

So right now I must take

With every action and move with deliberate

Choice and decision

Being resourcefully witty, since that's how I'll be winnin'

The life of my dreams, the life I deserve

I haven't worked smart enough yet, that's why is hasn't been served

To me in all my haste on a silver platter

There's so much that needs to be done, for that matter

By following through, making a plan, I necessitate

That moving forward's my only option, I should no longer procrastinate

By Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

...

I'm losing the race!

I'm losing the race!

So now to my ghost I have to give chase!

I don't want memories

Of who I could be

Surround Me

On my deathbed at the day of my death

I need to get moving, propel myself, no less

I need to get started

On my primary target

Every inventor was almost always once a starving artist

I see people attaining their goals, so to mine I feel the farthest

My friend told me, "You have big goals and big dreams."

Yeah, but how can I accelerate everything faster through my own hands, by my own means?

I realized that I'm a human, we work better together as a team

When something's colossal we put our minds together and scheme

If not or minds, then extra hands are always useful

Yet, our plans and dreams we're always afraid to share and be truthful

I've known people that try to elicit your emotions to get what they want

It's disgusting, a habit they exhibit, they remind you of how absurd you are, they taunt

It's like they want something out of it, that's their own perception

That's why it's easier to take a punch than a hug, the art of misdirection

My friend can punch me, hurt me and care about me too

But a person who might just hug me, can stab me in the back easier, it's so simplistically true

I'm still all for honesty and living my life regret-free

Yet, there are some people that need to be asserted against with properly set boundaries

Boundaries aren't setup to keep people from coming in

They're set up to ensure you don't get hurt in ways you dislike again

Sometimes though it's best to move on and let yourself grow

Some people just aren't worth Your time, You have to say "No."

By Braden Collum on Unsplash

...

I get it, we hate being stuck in a nonrewarding routine

With abstract milestones, we feel like we've gone nowhere, it seems

Hopeless and Pointless

If not just impossible

Why would You be doing something

That prevents Your desired results from being plausible?

A miner digs away at the rock and earth to find diamonds

Hoping to find them behind the next wall, that's where they find them

Sure, they may not find any gemstones for miles on end

Yet, their progress is measure by the earth they moved until then

It's a constant grind, just mining away

Sometimes we get so caught up in our work, we barely see the light of day

By Peter Burdon on Unsplash

...

I should leave it here, and go out to make my own stance

'Cause I have one life to live, only one chance

By ERNEST TARASOV on Unsplash

performance poetryslam poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentary

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Thavien YliasterWritten by Thavien Yliaster

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.