Poets logo

My Wings = My Soul.

“My soul is painted like the wings of butterflies.” // Freddie Mercury (Queen), The Show Must Go On

By Christina CPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2

My wings are still off a butterfly;

Fragile & frail,

Yet, now somehow resilient & strong without fail.

Because I’m still alive and breathing.

When I look up at the stars,

I’m at awe and amazed.

And I somehow don’t feel alone looking at millions of them.

I’ve always suspected them to be angels in disguise growing up.

Last year has been a year of growing and aching.

A year of gaining and loosing friends.

I must learn to look back at it as a year of learning.

But I’ve sadly had a huge loss of my creative self.

Never mind about rejections and breakups from boys that I wouldn’t last with,

While those do hurt a lot, I stopped caring as if it’s now a temporary thing to let go.

After few years including that year, I lost my imaginations, creativity, and some perspectives that are of a soul such as myself and everybody.

I’ve gained a lot of those after the traumatic loss of my dad.

They’ve painfully & slowly burned off of my soul.

Replacing them with nothingness and trying desperately to hold on to what keeps me going.

I’m not one to blame anybody but I can count up to 5 people I blame that exact huge loss on.

Not my dad, because I remembered how and why

But my energy & creativity.

For my grief and anger are now in the colors of hell.

This year I’m learning to get myself out of hell I’ve been living with.

A brilliant singer once sang “my soul is painted like the wings of butterflies.”

As I see that I’m using my wings.

Not an angels wing, mind you.

For my wings are and have been of a butterfly.

Fragile & frail

And yet are now resilient and strong, without fail.

Thanks to my Heavenly Parents & my Savior.

But me telling this isn’t the end at all.

It is and will forever be a work of progress. The beautiful thing is that I don’t ever have to wait to be happy and loved at the journey’s end.

~Christina C.~

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Christina C

Creativity run through my veins,

Nostalgia runs though my mind

// Insta //

@lds.indie97

@indie.wildflower.creative

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.